

Arkansas Radiological Society Newsletter Volume 1 - Issue 1 - June 2021

ACR Opposition to CMS Budget Neutrality

As you probably know, CMS had budget neutrality plans for 2021.

Thanks in large part to our Senators from Arkansas, John Boozman and Tom Cotton, legislation was passed to avoid budget neutrality for 2021 and to actually apply a 3.75% increase in the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule for 2021.

Unfortunately, there are deep cuts scheduled for Medicare provider for 2022, 2023 and 2024. The ACR is recommending Congress retain the current 3.75% increase in the MPFS conversion factor for 2022. They are also recommending a long-term reform to prevent major shifts in the MPFS, including alternatives for the statutory requirements for budget neutrality. Finally, the ACR is requesting that Congress waive statutory PAYGO requirements associated with the American Rescue Plan Act to avert an automatic 4% payment reduction in 2022.

Additionally, inform your colleagues in our state and in other states to do the same. Other providers, Arkansas BCBS in particular, will likely follow suit This would be a major detriment to our field currently and for years to come.

Please act now!

Chapter Conference

The Arkansas Chapter was very pleased to present our first ever virtual conference on Breast Imaging of TOMOrrow this past May, hosted by Radiology Consultants of Little Rock, PA



2022 Conference

Our next meeting will be a Neuroradiology conference featuring Anne Osborn, MD, FACR on <u>May 7, 2022</u>, at UAMS. The planned lecture in May with Dr. Osborn will be co-sponsored by the Edgardo J. Angtuaco, M.D. Education Endowment in Neuroradiology



Please SAVE THE DATE - May 7, 2022



Women and Diversity Zoom Meeting

Gwendolyn Bryant-Smith, MD and Amanda J Ferrell, MD hosted a virtual Women and Diversity gathering extended to all women radiologists in the state. We plan to. have a live gathering this fall. We hope to make this a biannual event. Email invitations will go out when plans are firm in the coming months.

FUTURE Annual ACR National meetings in DC

Upcoming dates for ACR are: 2022 - April 24-28 2023 - May 6-10

The Arkansas Chapter was awarded the Recognition Award for 2020 at the ACR Annual Meeting for:

Overall Excellence - Division B

Joseph D. Calhoun, MD, FACR Fund

Thanks to your generosity to the Calhoun Fund, up to four residents will be able to attend many events at the ACR conference each May. The Calhoun Fund was established in 2015 to honor Joseph Calhoun, MD legacy and dedication to the state of Arkansas and the American College of Radiology. The Calhoun Fund is a vehicle to sponsor UAMS Radiology Resident education. You may contribute at:

The Calhoun Fund

Since 2015, 17 residents have attended the ACR meetings and offered their appreciation to all that support them.

Did you know?

- The Arkansas Chapter has a Resident-Fellow Section (RFS) which promotes resident participation in the activities of the ARS Executive Committee. Serving this year are: Ronald Mora, MD and Alex Koichi, MD. The residents have established a Journal Club that meets twice yearly. Our hope is to resume Journal Club this fall.
- The ACR offers a Senior Retired Section (SRS) that you may be interested in. The mission is to enhance the experience of senior (over age 65 and/or retired) members in the ACR bypromoting fellowship and interaction amongst the members; communicating opportunities for continued professional involvement including mentorship, career transition and leadership training. You may also contact them at srs@acr.org for more details.
- If you have recently retired, please advise Sue White at arradsoc@gmail.com and she will assist you in updating the ACR and you will not have to pay dues for the ACR or the Chapter this next year.

DUES

2022 Dues statements for ACR and the Arkansas Chapter will be sent out by the ACR this fall. The Arkansas Chapter dues are payable through the ACR either by mail or utilizing the ACR website after you log in.

If you have NOT paid 2021 dues, they are due June 30, 2021

Fellow of The American College of Radiology (FACR)

To earn FACR, there are two ways to obtain. You may be nominated by the Executive Committee or you may self-submit. Spring is the time to consider nominations as applications must be completed on-line by June 1 each year. If you are considering applying, please review the guidelines first under the ACR website. You will need assistance from the ACR, the Arkansas Chapter and endorsement letters from current FACR members. Below is the link to locate the information: FACR DETAILS The FACR office will also assist you in the application process if you will email them at: FACR Office for questions a potential candidate might have.

We congratulate the following candidates that just received their FACR honor virtually, at the recent ACR meeting:

Bryan T. Jennings, MD, FACR







Two were nominated for FACR for 2022:

Amanda J Ferrell, MD



Sharp F Malak, MD, MPH



Be sure and review our website as a resource to stay in touch: <u>Arkansas Chapter of the ACR</u> We welcome you to our Newsletter and for information not yet discussed; please contact Sue White at arradsoc@gmail.com or review our website.

Beginning June 1, 2021 Executive Committee for 2021-2022:

President: Amanda J Ferrell, MD
Vice President: Gwendolyn Bryant-Smith, MD
Secretary-Treasurer: Cade Martin, MD
Councilors: Amanda Ferrell, MD; Cade Martin, MD
Gwendolyn Bryant-Smith, MD
Alternate Councilors: John Burda, MD; Zeke Shotts, MD
Stephen Penor, MD, FACR

Young Alternate Councilor: Stephen Routon, MD Fellowship Chair: Kenneth V Robbins, MD, FACR and Co-Chair: Scott B Harter MD, FACR

Government Relations Committee: J Greg Baden, MD

The following have served as President of the Arkansas Chapter for the past 10 Years.

Your dedication is most appreciated:

Stephen P Penor, MD, FACR
Bryan T Jennings, MD, FACR
Sharp F Malak, MD, MPH
Scott B Harter, MD, FACR
Michael P Hickman, MD, FACR
W Jean Matchett, MD, FACR
Leo F Drolshagen, III, MD, FACR
Kenneth V Robbins, MD, FACR
David A Hays, MD, FACR
Philip J Kenney, MD, FACR

Last but not least our condolences go to those that recently lost two of our state Radiation Oncologists:

John David Hardin, MD formerly of Pine Bluff and recently of Fayetteville

and

Michael L. Talbert, MD of Little Rock

Visit our website