Arkansas Radiological Society Newsletter
Volume 1 – Issue 1 – June 2023

The Arkansas Radiological Society continued to thrive this year because of all the wonderful teamwork!

We were excited to host Jessica W. T. Leung, MD, FACR, FSBI, Professor and Deputy Chair in the Department of Breast Imaging at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, as our keynote speaker for our 2023 Annual CME conference. Dr. Leung is Past President of the Society of Breast Imaging, has published extensively, and has lectured nationally and internationally. She gave three outstanding lectures which included a discussion of Breast Asymmetries, Nodal Assessment, and Neoadjuvant Therapy. In addition to Dr. Leung, we also had four of our own Arkansas Radiologists, all fellowship trained in Breast Imaging, who provided outstanding lectures. Dr. Bennett Battle gave a talk on Cryoablation of Breast Cancers, Dr. Holly Gonzales gave a talk on the Management of Atypical Breast Lesions, Dr. Rachel Pollitzer Pahls gave a talk on Automated Breast Ultrasound, and Dr. Shyann Renfroe talked on Common Skin Findings Encountered in Breast Imaging. The conference was informative and well attended by residents, fellows, and both academic and private practice radiologists from around the state.  Read More

2024 Chapter Conference

April 6, 2024
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS)
Topic: MSK
Guest Speaker: Mark Collins, MD – Mayo Clinic
Local Speakers: Roopa Ram, MD; Tarun Pandey, MD
Gitanjali Bajaj, MD

Women and Diversity Zoom Meeting

Gwendolyn Bryant-Smith, MD and Amanda J Ferrell, MD hosted a virtual Women and Diversity gathering extended to all women radiologists in the state. We plan to have a live gathering this fall. We hope to make this a biannual event. Email invitations will go out when plans are firm in the coming months.

FUTURE Annual ACR National Meetings in DC
2024 – April 13-17

The Arkansas Chapter was awarded the Recognition Award for 2022 at the ACR Annual Meeting for:
Overall Excellence – Division B

Joseph D. Calhoun, MD, FACR Fund

Thanks to your generosity to the Calhoun Fund, up to four residents will be able to attend many events at the ACR conference each May. The Calhoun Fund was established in 2015 to honor Joseph Calhoun, MD legacy and dedication to the state of Arkansas and the American College of Radiology. The Calhoun Fund is a vehicle to sponsor UAMS Radiology Resident education. Since 2015 several residents have attended the ACR meetings and all have offered their appreciation to everyone who helped support them.  You may contribute at: The Calhoun Fund

Did You Know?

  • The Arkansas Chapter has a Resident-Fellow Section (RFS) which promotes resident participation in the activities of the ARS Executive Committee. Serving this year are: Ronald Mora, MD and Alex Koichi, MD. The residents have established a Journal Club that meets twice yearly. Our hope is to resume Journal Club this fall.
  • The ACR offers a Senior Retired Section (SRS) that you may be interested in. The mission is to enhance the experience of senior (over age 65 and/or retired) members in the ACR by promoting fellowship and interaction amongst the members; communicating opportunities for continued professional involvement including mentorship, career transition and leadership training. You may also contact them at srs@acr.orgfor more details.
  • If you have recently retired, please advise Sue White at arradsoc@gmail.comand she will assist you in updating the ACR and you will not have to pay dues for the ACR or the Chapter this next year.


Dues statements for ACR and the Arkansas Chapter will be sent out by the ACR this fall. The Arkansas Chapter dues are payable through the ACR either by mail or utilizing the ACR website after you log in.

If you have NOT paid dues, they are due June 30th

Fellow of The American College of Radiology (FACR)

 To earn FACR, there are two ways to obtain.  You may be nominated by the Executive Committee or you may self-submit. Spring is the time to consider nominations as applications must be completed on-line by June 1 each year. If you are considering applying, please review the guidelines first under the ACR website. You will need assistance from the ACR, the Arkansas Chapter and endorsement letters from current FACR members. Below is the link to locate the information: FACR DETAILS   The FACR office will also assist you in the application process if you will email them at:   FACR Office for questions a potential candidate might have.

Be sure and review our website as a resource to stay in touch: Arkansas Chapter of the ACR.  For information not yet discussed; please contact Sue White at or review our website.

Newsletter Downloadable Versions:

pdf icon June 2023

pdf icon June 2021

pdf icon  September 2020

pdf icon
May 25, 2018

pdf icon